An introduction to Primary Care Networks

News from: Reading Voluntary Action

Thank you to those of you who came to ‘Putting Health at the Heart of Neighbourhoods’ last week. There was a great turnout and some good discussions. We heard about the new Primary Care Networks (PCNs) launched on 1 July 2019. A PCN is:

A grouping of GP practices working with community services, social care and the voluntary sector to plan and co-ordinate care within a neighbourhood of 30-50,000 patients with a strong focus on understanding population need and responding proactively to maintain health and wellbeing.

In Reading there are six PCNs
1. Tilehurst: Westwood Road, Grovelands and Tilehurst Village
2. Whitley: London Street, Milman Road, South Reading and Shinfield and Longbarn Lane
3. Reading Central: Abbey, Eldon Road, Chatham Street, Pembroke, Kennet, Melrose, Russell Street and Reading Walk-in Centre
4. University: University Medical Group
5. Caversham: Balmore Park and Emmer Green
6. Reading West: Circuit lane, Western Elms and Tilehurst (Potteries)

-Each PCN has a Clinical Director leading on the development and delivery of local improvement programmes aligned to national/local priorities and contributing on behalf of their PCN to the strategy and wider work of the Integrated Care System.
-Each PCN can bring together an extended team of practitioners to wrap services around patients, strengthen joined up working and redesign pathways to better support patients. Over the next few years, the extended team could include clinical pharmacists, social prescribers, physician associates, physiotherapists and paramedics.

It is early days for the Primary Care Networks and we will continue to keep you updated as they develop.

Leave a Reply